Engage Me

I love when I am taking a new course or attending a new workshop and my brain starts to go into overdrive and I start trying to find out more and learn more and then I start thinking: it’s almost uncontrollable how my mind just goes. I think about ways to apply new ideas or how I can find out more, or I go to google and start searching words and phrases. I get energized and excited! I WANT to learn.  This is how learning should be for all subjects and for all students.

I, of course, am not naive enough to think that if you put me into a course about chemical engineering, I would somehow jump with excitement.  But, if the content was delivered in an interactive way and I could find a way to connect with it in someway, I think I might at least be slightly curious.

Isn’t that the feeling we want for all students? Wouldn’t teaching be so much more rewarding?

And, youth don’t just need this, but adults too!  When we sit in an in-service with someone lecturing to us about this or that, we doodle – we think about all the things we need to be doing – we sort of fade in and out of paying attention. If they turn out the lights to flip through a powerpoint, it’s worse, isn’t it?

I want to shout out…TALK TO ME! ASK ME! MAKE ME GET UP AND MOVE AROUND!

I want to shout out: ENGAGE ME!!!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dana Yarbrough

     /  September 1, 2012

    Your enthusiasm for learning practically vibrated through my iPad! My dad is a lifelong learner, but I don’t think that I am. I don’t know if it is my age (mid to late 40s), that I work 60 hours a week, that I have been advocating with and for my daughter for 18 years — I’m just tired and my brain is full! Co-workers and friends have tried for years to get me to join their bookclubs – to read something profound and discuss it for weeks…I’d rather read a 200 page vampire romance and let it go when I am done!!!

    Reply

Share your thoughts

